Seven intense days, in which the winner has to play seven consecutive games, the last four with no margin for error. A demanding tournament in which quality, physical preparation, competitiveness and a long squad are needed. If we review the list of winners since its inception in the 70s, we see that the champions of the 2021 edition lead it: FC Barcelona Y SPAR Gran Canaria.

The blaugranas, in the men’s category, settle a very even fight with the real Madrid. 16 titles for the Catalans for 15 of the people from Madrid, so the gold medals can be matched again in Huelva. The FC Barcelona He completes it with 11 silvers and 9 bronzes, for 8 silvers and 6 bronzes from Real Madrid. The odd man out is the Joventut from Badalona with six titles. In fact, these three teams have been on the podium in the last five editions, and you have to go back to the 2015 edition to see the Unibox on the podium

Precisely, the people from Malaga are the fourth dominant team in the category with three almost consecutive titles (2006, 2008 and 2009). And the last big surprises were 20 years ago with the championships won by the Forum Valladolid (2002) and the Basketball Seville (2003).

In the female category, the domain of SPAR Gran Canaria is more evident: 13 titles for the Canary Islands for 5 of the royal canoe and the University. Those of Domingo Díaz and Begoña Santana were a roller from 2008 to 2017, with nine golds in ten editions. It seemed to change the trend with the titles of the Sant Adria in 2018 and of Movistar Students in 2019, but they won again a year ago in Huelva and once again become the favorite team in this edition, with the Catalans and the Madrid women without a place in this Spanish Championship.

Of course, more recent clubs with few appearances on the podiums become candidates for the title this year: Valencia BC, Unicaja, B. Torrelodones

Source link