Due to current sanitary conditions, the draw for the group stage, both for the men’s and women’s tournaments, will be held on this occasion behind closed doors but broadcast live on FIBA’s digital channels from its headquarters in Mies (Switzerland). .

The women’s tournament already knows its 12 participating countries, after the qualifying groups played last February. Are Nigeria (Africa), Canada, Puerto Rico, United States (America), China, Japan, South Korea (Asia), Spain, Belgium, France, Serbia (Europe) and Australia (Oceania).

In the draw, the 12 teams will be assigned in four ‘pots’ according to their classification in the official FIBA ??Ranking, and will be distributed in 3 groups of 4 teams each, with a limitation that affects Spain: there can only be one group with two European countries; the other two countries in this group cannot be from the same continent.

Regarding the men’s tournament, is it so four countries pending classification, which will come out of the four pre-Olympic phases that will be played from June 29 to July 4 in Victoria (Canada), Split (Croatia), Kaunas (Lithuania) and Belgrade (Serbia), with a total of 24 teams at stake (6 in each phase). In the draw, therefore, the winning teams of each phase will be assigned.

The 8 countries already classified are Nigeria (Africa), Argentina, United States (America), Iran, Japan (Asia), Spain, France (Europe) and Australia (Oceania).

The 12 countries will also be assigned to four ‘pots’ according to their position in the FIBA ??Official Ranking, and will be distributed in 3 groups of 4 teams each, with a different limitation than that of women’s groups: there can be more than one group with two European countries, but in them the other two cannot be from the same continent.

The Olympic tournament will be played with the same competition system, both male and female: Each team will play 3 games in their group, and the first two from each group and the best two third parties will qualify for the final phase – the fight for the medals. And from there, quarterfinals, semi-finals and finals. With respect to the competition system that had governed until now in the Olympic Games, the route to win a medal is reduced from 8 to 6 matches.