They go from 3 to 41. The 18 players that this Friday will meet in Madrid to begin preparing the participation of the Men’s National Team in the Tokyo Olympic Games have already awarded their corresponding numbers.

There are no outstanding surprises. The eight players who were proclaimed world champions in China in 2019 keep their numbers from two years ago. Pau Gasol evidently recovers the historic 4 that he had not dressed since his last appearance in the team, in the Eurobasket 2017. The same Sergio Rodríguez, faithful to his 6. While Darío Brizuela ‘inherits’ the 8th World Cup from Pau Ribas.

The two debutants in a concentration, Usman Garuba and Sergi Martínez, have chosen 16 and 22 respectively. The last to wear the 16 in a championship was Guillem Vives in the 2017 Eurobasket, and the 22 is the one that Xavi Rabaseda wore two years ago in China.

List of numbers

3 Xabi López-Aróstegui
4 Pau Gasol
5 Rudy Fernandez
6 Sergio Rodriguez
8 Darío Brizuela
9 Ricky Rubio
10 Victor Claver
11 Sebas Saiz
12 Carlos Alocen
13 Marc Gasol
14 Willy Hernangómez
16 Usman Garuba
18 Pierre Oriola
20 Alberto Abalde
21 Alex Abrines
22 Sergi Martinez
23 Sergio Llull
41 Juancho Hernangómez